Posted by: Linda Trunell | October 13, 2013

Operant Conditioning Explained & Illustrated

The learning theory of operant conditioning is explained by four quadrants where:

  • Positive is adding something (good or bad)
  • Negative is removing something (good or bad)
  • Reinforcing is increasing behavior
  • Punishing is decreasing behavior

You can read “A Beginners Guide to Operant Conditioning” here

This poster from Lili Chin illustrates the quadrants in a very simple, easy to understand way.

Click here to enlarge


You can learn more about Lili Chin and her work here

Here’s to being our dog’s best friend,


  1. love the infographic!



%d bloggers like this: